Updated: 2026-08-31
A subsidised day care centre or unit requires the Standardised Care Need Assessment first. It serves frail people aged 60 or above assessed as suitable for community care or residential care, including those with dementia. Social Welfare Department (SWD) statistics as at 31 July 2026: 2,914 people waiting for a day care centre or unit, average wait 6 months; on the home-care side (Home Care Services for Frail Elderly Persons) 14,846 waiting, average 15 months. ⚠️ That "average" is calculated over the people who have already entered the service, not the people still waiting. Cannot wait? The day respite service requires no standardised assessment, has no district-of-residence restriction, and can be enquired about and applied for directly at the centre — $41.5 a day (subsidised day care centres/units and Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes) or $21 a session (recognised service units in the Community Care Service Voucher scheme). Residential respite is different: it must be referred by a social worker, at $62 a day (care-and-attention and contract home places) or $72 (nursing home places). ⚠️ SWD's day care centre page prints no charge for the regular service, and this article cites none. It sets out the figures and rules SWD publishes, rates no centre, and offers no medical advice.
What is a day care centre, and who qualifies?
SWD's wording: day care centres/units "they provide centre-based community care for frail people in the district aged 60 or above who have been assessed under the Standardised Care Need Assessment Mechanism as suitable for community care or residential care services, including those with dementia — offering day care, rehabilitation exercise and social activities, to help them maintain optimal mobility, improve quality of life and age in a familiar community."
Two points worth noting:
- The age is 60, not 65. Subsidised residential places start at 65 (with 60 to 64 requiring proof of genuine need); day centres start at 60.
- Either assessment outcome qualifies you. Even if you were assessed as suitable for residential care and are queuing for a place, you can still use a day centre.
The centres also serve carers. SWD states: "day care centres/units also provide support and assistance of various kinds to carers".
How do you apply? For full-time or part-time service: "the elderly person or their family may contact a nearby Integrated Family Service Centre or Integrated Service Centre, Medical Social Services Unit, District Elderly Community Centre, Neighbourhood Elderly Centre or Social Centre for the Elderly, so that these units can help apply."
How long is the wait? Two figures — and how each is calculated matters
| Service | People waiting | Average wait |
|---|---|---|
| Day care centres/units for the elderly | 2,914 | 6 months |
| Home Care Services for Frail Elderly Persons | 14,846 | 15 months |
| Total | 17,760 | — |
⚠️ As with the residential statistics, this "average" is not what you think it is. SWD's own note:
"The average number of months, for general applications that entered the service in the past three months, from being placed on the Central Waiting List to entering that service. Cases that were previously given priority allocation, and cases previously classified as "inactive" that entered service within the past three months, are excluded from the calculation, because their waiting times may be extremely long or extremely short compared with general applications."
So: the 6 months is "how long the people who entered service in the last three months had waited", not "how long you will wait if you join the queue today".
⚠️ One more figure has to be read alongside it: the same statistics state that "as at the end of July 2026, 8,052 elderly persons had been classified as 'inactive' cases because they were using a Community Care Service Voucher". Those 8,052 are not counted in the 17,760 above. Note that they became inactive because they took a voucher — a different cause from the inactive cases on the residential waiting list, so the two figures cannot be added together or compared.
A practical observation: the people who entered these two services had waited very different lengths of time — 6 months for a day centre, 15 months for home care. ⚠️ These are retrospective averages among people who got in, not "how long the queue is now"; if both services would suit, it is worth asking about the actual position of each.
How many places are there?
SWD's 2024-25 figures (as at 31 March 2025):
- Day care centres/units for the elderly: 102 (4,183 places)
- Integrated Home Care Services: 61 teams (4,120 frail-case places; 15,562 home support service case places)
- Enhanced Home and Community Care Services: 31 teams (9,245 places)
⚠️ Two points:
- These figures are as at 31 March 2025, a different date from the waiting statistics above (31 July 2026), so the two sets cannot be combined.
- The two home services above are named by their old names. SWD still uses the old names on this page, while the waiting statistics use the merged new name — see the next section.
The home services have been renamed twice; both dates matter
Two reorganisations, eighteen months apart.
| Effective date | What was consolidated |
|---|---|
| 1 October 2024 | Home Care and Support Services for Mildly Impaired Elderly Persons + Integrated Home Care Services (ordinary cases) → Home Support Services |
| 1 April 2026 | Integrated Home Care Services (frail cases) + Enhanced Home and Community Care Services → Home Care Services for Frail Elderly Persons |
Why remember this? Because old leaflets, old referral letters, and even some of SWD's own pages still use the old names — if you see “Enhanced Home and Community Care Services” or “Integrated Home Care Services”, it may well be the same service you are looking at today.
How much? SWD's page prints no charge for the regular service
⚠️ This article cites no charge for the regular service at a subsidised day care centre. SWD's “Day Care Centres/Units for the Elderly” page prints no charge at all.
The respite charges are printed, and they are low.
| Service | Charge |
|---|---|
| Day respite — subsidised day care centres/units and Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes | $41.5 per day |
| Day respite — recognised service units in the Community Care Service Voucher scheme | $21 per session |
| Residential respite — care-and-attention place | $62 per day |
| Residential respite — contract home place | $62 per day |
| Residential respite — nursing home place | $72 per day |
Respite: two kinds, two completely different sets of rules
This section is written for carers.
| Day respite | Residential respite | |
|---|---|---|
| Standardised assessment needed? | No | Also no — SWD's operational guideline states the applicant need not undergo the standardised assessment, but the level of care required should broadly match the home's service; a social worker's referral is required |
| District-of-residence restriction | None | Neither the page nor the guideline states one |
| Usage limit | Up to 42 days in total in the past 12 months; extension at discretion in special circumstances | Up to 6 weeks (42 days) in total in the 12 months before the application date; each stay at least 24 hours, no more than 6 weeks |
| Earliest you can apply | Bought-place homes and voucher units: one month before the date of use | Designated places: 6 months before admission; casually vacant places: 2 weeks before admission |
| Medical examination needed? | Subsidised centres and voucher units: no; bought-place homes: yes | Yes: under the Code of Practice for Residential Care Homes, every resident must be examined by a registered medical practitioner before admission (report valid for 6 months) |
| How to apply | You may enquire and apply directly to the centre/unit, or be referred | Must be referred by a social worker |
| Age | 60 or above | 60 or above |
| Checking vacancies | SWD's day respite page lists “day respite service vacancy position” | SWD's “Vacancy Enquiry System for Respite Service / Emergency Placement” |
On day respite, SWD's wording is blunt:
"Users of the day respite service need not be assessed under the Standardised Care Need Assessment Mechanism. There is no restriction on the elderly person's district of residence."
Four eligibility conditions, all of which must be met: "aged 60 or above, living in the community and not receiving residential care services"; "needing general personal care and/or limited nursing care"; "physically and mentally suitable for a communal living environment"; and "health condition and self-care ability matching the care/nursing level of the centre, unit or home providing the day respite".
How do you check for a vacancy? SWD's day respite page lists a “day respite service vacancy position”; SWD also runs an online Vacancy Enquiry System for Respite Service / Emergency Placement (ves.swd.gov.hk). SWD's Operational Guideline on Day Respite Service for the Elderly (December 2025) states that the system "lets people in need and referring social workers check vacancy positions at any time", and that service units "must proactively update the vacancy data in the system in good time, within at most one working day". Even after checking, it is worth telephoning the unit to confirm, because vacancies change.
Where is it available? SWD lists three kinds of place: subsidised day care centres/units (「部分中心/單位設有指定日間暫託名額,同時,所有受資助的長者日間護理中心/單位均可使用偶然空置的日間護理服務名額」 — some centres/units have designated day respite places, and all subsidised day care centres/units may use casually vacant day care places); private homes in the Enhanced Bought Place Scheme; and some recognised service units in the Community Care Service Voucher scheme.
⚠️ Two phrases matter here — "some" and "casually vacant": SWD writes that "some centres/units have designated day respite places", while "all subsidised day care centres/units may use casually vacant day care places" to provide day respite. In other words, a centre may hold fixed respite places, or may rely only on day care places that happen to fall vacant — and SWD publishes no breakdown of the two. The operational guideline puts it more firmly: all subsidised day care centres/units "must use casually vacant day care places to provide day respite", and units must "immediately arrange any casually vacant place for an eligible elderly person". Check the online system above, then confirm with the unit.
How many days can you use? Normally up to 42 in 12 months. SWD's Operational Guideline on Day Respite Service for the Elderly (December 2025) states that day respite "it may be applied for repeatedly. Generally an elderly person may use up to 42 days in total in the past 12 months, and may take them in separate periods. If an elderly person needs a longer period because of special circumstances, the service unit must consult SWD for discretionary consideration."
When can you book, and is a medical examination needed? These two split by type of service unit:
| Service unit | Earliest application | Medical examination |
|---|---|---|
| Subsidised day care centres/units | The guideline states no advance period | Not required |
| Voucher-scheme recognised service units | One month before the date of use; earlier at discretion in special cases | Not required |
| Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes | One month before the date of use; earlier at discretion in special cases | Required: examination by a registered medical practitioner, on the prescribed resident medical examination report form; in an emergency or special case the service may be given first and the examination done within three calendar days |
⚠️ The guideline also states that service units "should not impose examination items beyond the basic medical examination, for example a chest X-ray"; additional items require justification and SWD's prior approval. Units should also make good use of an applicant's medical records, including eHealth records, as an alternative to additional examinations. For cases of sudden need, units must immediately arrange a casually vacant place.
Service hours: subsidised day care centres/units operate "Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm, excluding public holidays", with a note that "some centres/units provide extended-hours service".
Residential respite: no standardised assessment, but a social worker's referral is compulsory. SWD's Operational Guideline on Residential Respite Service (March 2026) states that it serves people 「年齡 60 歲或以上」 who are 「體格及精神適合群體生活」, and that 「申請人毋須接受「安老服務統一評估」,但其需要的照顧程度應大致符合有關安老院舍所提供的服務性質和內容」 (the applicant need not undergo the Standardised Care Need Assessment, but the level of care they require should broadly match the nature and content of the service the home provides). The application "must be referred by the case social worker"; you can call the hotline 182 183 or SWD's hotline 2343 2255, or seek help through an Integrated Family Service Centre or Integrated Service Centre, a Medical Social Services Unit or an elderly service unit.
⚠️ Two further rules affect the arrangements: the guideline states that the family "must sign an undertaking to take the elderly person back into their care when the respite period ends"; and under the Code of Practice for Residential Care Homes, every resident must be examined by a registered medical practitioner before admission (in an emergency or special case, within 3 calendar days after admission), with the resident medical examination report valid for six months from issue. The usage limit is up to 6 weeks (42 days) in total in the 12 months before the application date, each stay at least 24 hours and no more than 6 weeks; in very special circumstances the referring social worker may apply for an extension. SWD also runs the Vacancy Enquiry System for Respite Service / Emergency Placement for checking vacancies.
Who most needs to know this: families where someone must travel for a few days, or where the carer is having surgery — day respite can be arranged by telephoning directly; residential respite starts with a social worker.
The community voucher: an alternative to waiting — but you still wait for an invitation
The Community Care Service Voucher is the other “money follows the person” route.
- Face value (2026-27): maximum $10,824 a month, minimum $4,526; the elderly person may choose any value between the two to buy a package of services.
- Co-payment: means-tested on the income of the elderly person and family members living with them, in six bands — 5%, 8%, 12%, 16%, 25% or 40% — with the government paying the balance.
- Three modes: centre-based (full day or part time), home-based, and a mixed mode — SWD states that "the elderly person may use day centre services and home care services at the same time".
- How do you get one? You must first have been assessed as suitable for community or residential care, be on the Central Waiting List, and "not yet be receiving any residential care service or subsidised community care service"; SWD then invites eligible people "by letter, in order of application date on the Central Waiting List". Approval and issue normally complete within 4 weeks of the application being received.
What happens to your waiting application once you take a voucher? As at the end of July 2026, 8,052 elderly persons were classified as "inactive" cases because they were using a voucher. But "inactive" does not mean starting from zero. SWD's FAQ on the Community Care Service Voucher Scheme (document prints June 2025), section six, item 1:
"After a voucher is issued, the elderly person's application for long term care services on the Central Waiting List is updated to an "inactive case". When they need long term care services, the case worker can restore the status to "active", and the waiting position is determined by the original application date. Using the voucher therefore does not affect the elderly person's waiting position for long term care services."
Ask about these
- Which queue are we in, and where are we in it? Day centres and home services are two separate queues, averaging 6 months against 15 months.
- While we wait, is there a day respite place? No assessment, no district restriction, and you can telephone directly; SWD runs an online Vacancy Enquiry System for Respite Service / Emergency Placement, and units must update vacancy data within at most one working day. Note that places come in two kinds — designated and casually vacant — and SWD publishes no breakdown.
- How many respite days have we used in the past 12 months? Normally up to 42 days in 12 months, which may be taken in separate periods; a longer period requires the unit to consult SWD for discretionary consideration.
- When can we book, and is a medical examination needed? For day respite at an Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private home or a voucher-scheme unit, the earliest application is one month before the date of use; day respite at subsidised day care centres/units and at voucher-scheme units requires no medical examination, while Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes require examination by a registered medical practitioner.
- How much is respite? Day respite $41.5 per day or $21 per session; residential respite $62 or $72 per day. Charges may be adjusted annually, and do not cover additional supplies for special personal care needs.
- Who refers us for residential respite? A social worker must; call the hotline 182 183 or SWD's hotline 2343 2255.
- What happens to our waiting application if we take a community voucher? It is updated to an "inactive case", but SWD states that the case worker can restore it to "active", with the waiting position determined by the original application date.
- Do the centre's hours fit us? Subsidised centres generally run Monday to Saturday, 8am to 6pm, excluding public holidays; some provide extended-hours service.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you have to be 65 to get into a day care centre? No. It serves frail people aged 60 or above who have been assessed under the Standardised Care Need Assessment as suitable for community care or residential care services, including those with dementia. Sixty-five is the threshold for a subsidised residential place. 65 is the threshold for subsidised residential places.
- How many people are waiting for a day care centre? As at 31 July 2026, 2,914 people were on the Central Waiting List for day care centres/units for the elderly; 14,846 were waiting for Home Care Services for Frail Elderly Persons over the same period, 17,760 in total.
- What is the average wait? What SWD publishes is not "how long you will wait" but how long the general applications that entered service in the past three months had waited: as at 31 July 2026, 6 months for day care centres/units and 15 months for Home Care Services for Frail Elderly Persons. SWD explains that this is the average number of months from being placed on the Central Waiting List to entering the service, for general applications that entered service in the past three months, excluding cases previously given priority allocation and cases previously classified as inactive that entered service in the past three months.
- How much is the regular day care centre service? This article does not say. The Social Welfare Department's “Day Care Centres/Units for the Elderly” page prints no charge.
- Does day respite need the standardised assessment? No. SWD states that users of the day respite service need not be assessed under the Standardised Care Need Assessment Mechanism, that there is no restriction on the elderly person's district of residence, and that you may enquire and apply directly to the centre or unit.
- How much is respite? Day respite: $41.5 per day at subsidised day care centres/units and Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes; $21 per session at recognised service units in the Community Care Service Voucher scheme. Residential respite: $62 per day for care-and-attention and contract home places, $72 per day for nursing home places. SWD notes that charges may be adjusted annually and do not cover additional nursing supplies and/or consumables for special personal care needs.
- Can you apply for residential respite yourself? No. SWD states that residential respite must be referred by a social worker, and provides the hotline 182 183 and SWD's hotline 2343 2255; SWD also runs a Vacancy Enquiry System for Respite Service / Emergency Placement for checking vacancies.
- Can a community voucher be used for a day centre and home care at the same time? Yes. The voucher has a mixed mode, and SWD states that the elderly person may use day centre services and home care services at the same time. The 2026-27 face value is a maximum of $10,824 and a minimum of $4,526 a month, with co-payment in six bands (5%, 8%, 12%, 16%, 25% or 40%).
Also in this series:
- How the services divide and how the standardised assessment works: “How is elderly care organised in Hong Kong? Homes, day centres, home care — and the single assessment gate that decides which queue you join”
- How to apply for a subsidised home and how long the wait is: “How do you apply for a subsidised care home, and how long is the wait? 19,196 people queuing, and another 38,104 inactive applications”
What this article does not claim
- It cites no charge for the regular service at a subsidised day care centre. That SWD page prints no charge at all.
- It does not treat the 6 months and the 15 months as "the speed of the queue now". Both are retrospective averages among people who have already entered service, excluding cases previously given priority allocation and cases previously classified as inactive; nor does the article treat the difference between them as a difference in how fast the two queues move.
- It cites no advance booking period for subsidised day care centres/units. The operational guideline states "one month before the date of service use" only for Enhanced Bought Place Scheme private homes and voucher-scheme recognised service units.
- It does not state what share of respite places are designated and what share are casually vacant. SWD writes only that "some" centres have designated places and that "all" centres may use casually vacant places, publishing no ratio; this article estimates none.
- It names, compares and rates no day care centre or service unit. SWD provides links to lists, which were not opened.
- It does not combine or compare the 8,052 with the "inactive" figure on the residential waiting list. The causes differ: the former became inactive through using a community voucher; the latter is covered in another article in this series.
- It does not add the two sets of figures together. The waiting statistics are as at 31 July 2026; the numbers of centres, teams and places are as at 31 March 2025.
- It cites no actual amount for each community voucher co-payment band. Those amounts sit in a separate downloadable SWD file, which was not opened; the article cites only the six percentages SWD prints on the page.
- It does not deal with the Hospital Authority's discharge support programme for the elderly. The relevant page was not opened, so no statement is made.
- It does not state whether residential respite carries a district-of-residence restriction. Neither the SWD page nor the Operational Guideline on Residential Respite Service sets out a rule on this, and the article draws no inference.
- It offers no medical advice and judges no individual's suitability for a day centre or home care. Which one suits is decided by the standardised assessment.
Provenance: compiled from Social Welfare Department official statistics and service pages; every figure is marked with its source, its as-at date and its basis of calculation.
Quotations from Chinese-language official documents and press materials appear in our own English translation; the original wording governs.
資料來源 (Sources)
- Social Welfare Department, statistics on the number of people waiting for subsidised community care services for the elderly (the document states its statistics are as at 31 July 2026): https://www.swd.gov.hk/storage/asset/section/1021/tc/LTC%20Statistics%20CCS(Chi)(Jul%202026).pdf (retrieved 2026-08-30)
- Social Welfare Department, “Community Care Services” annual service content and statistics (page carries no date of its own; the table states figures as at 31 March 2025): https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/pubsvc/elderly/elderly_info/elderly_ah_sps/elderlysps/ccse/index.html (retrieved 2026-08-30)
- Social Welfare Department, “Day Care Centres/Units for the Elderly” (page carries no date of its own): https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/pubsvc/elderly/cat_commcare/daycarecen/index.html (retrieved 2026-08-30)
- Social Welfare Department, “Day Respite Service for the Elderly” (page carries no date of its own): https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/pubsvc/elderly/cat_careersupp/drrr/dayrespite/index.html (retrieved 2026-08-30)
- Social Welfare Department, Operational Guideline on Day Respite Service for the Elderly (document prints December 2025): https://www.swd.gov.hk/storage/asset/section/729/Operational%20Guideline%20on%20Day%20Respite%20Service%20for%20the%20Elderly_tc.pdf (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Social Welfare Department, Operational Guideline on Residential Respite Service (document prints March 2026): https://www.swd.gov.hk/storage/asset/section/730/tc/Respite%20Operational%20Guideline/Respite%20Operational%20Guideline%20(Mar_2026)%20tc.pdf (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Social Welfare Department, FAQ on the Community Care Service Voucher Scheme for the Elderly (document prints June 2025): https://www.swd.gov.hk/storage/asset/section/354/tc/FAQ/FAQ%20%28Chi%29_Regularisation_c_June%202025.pdf (retrieved 2026-08-31)
- Social Welfare Department, “Residential Respite Service for the Elderly” (page carries no date of its own): https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/pubsvc/elderly/cat_careersupp/drrr/respiteser/index.html (retrieved 2026-08-30)
- Social Welfare Department, “Pilot Scheme on Community Care Service Voucher for the Elderly” (page carries no date of its own; face values for 2026-27): https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/pubsvc/elderly/cat_commcare/psccsv/index.html (retrieved 2026-08-30)
Compiled by the editorial team from Social Welfare Department publications; every figure is attributed to its source. This is service information, not medical advice.
