Last updated: 2026-09-13

The Hong Kong Cancer Registry of the Hospital Authority records, in Liver Cancer in 2023 (document dated Aug 2025), liver cancer deaths registered in 2023 of 1,031 in males and 377 in females. The same document shows that, of the 1,416 hepatocellular carcinoma cases registered in 2023, 1,057 (74.6%) had a record of hepatitis B virus infection. The Primary Healthcare Commission announced on 26 January 2026 that the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme would be launched on 7 February 2026, subsidising eligible persons for hepatitis B screening, treatment "as well as liver cancer screenings". The Department of Health's press release of 28 July 2026 cites the Population Health Survey 2020-22 for a hepatitis B virus prevalence of 5.6% in the general population; the same release estimates around 410,000 people with chronic hepatitis B. Being born in or before 1988 does not make you automatically eligible — the scheme's "Eligibility" page lists four conditions joined by "and", and the year of birth is only one of them; and in the official flowchart, "Liver cancer screening" appears only in the box headed "Diagnosed with chronic hepatitis B".


How common is liver cancer in Hong Kong, and why is it always mentioned alongside hepatitis B?

On the Cancer Online Resource Hub's 2023 figures, liver cancer is the fifth most common cancer and the third leading cause of cancer death in Hong Kong; chronic hepatitis B is an important risk factor. Hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) is the most common form of primary liver cancer; Liver Cancer Prevention and Screening — Cancer Prevention Series 7 (June 2025), from the Non-communicable Disease Branch of the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health, states:

The most common primary liver cancer is hepatocellular carcinoma which accounts for about 90% of all liver cancer cases in Hong Kong.

Hepatitis B is a viral infection, and decades can pass between it and liver cancer. The Viral Hepatitis Control Office's "Hepatitis and Liver Cancer" page states:

HBV and HCV infection can remain asymptomatic until decades after infection, and when signs and symptoms, such as jaundice (yellowing of the skin and the whites of eyes) and tea-coloured urine, develop secondary to serious liver damage.

Two official sources can be set side by side on the numbers. The Cancer Online Resource Hub's "Liver Cancer" page states:

Liver cancer is the fifth commonest cancer in Hong Kong. In 2023, there were 1 700 new cases of liver cancer, accounting for 4.5% of all new cancer cases. Its crude annual incidence rate was 23 per 100 000 Hong Kong population. It is also the third leading cause of cancer deaths in Hong Kong, with 1 408 deaths in 2023, accounting for 9.5% of all cancer deaths.

The Cancer Online Resource Hub's "Liver Cancer" page prints a revision date of 28 April 2026. The Hong Kong Cancer Registry's Liver Cancer in 2023 (Aug 2025) sets out the registered figures for the same year by sex: incidence 1,273 male and 427 female; deaths 1,031 male and 377 female. Adding each pair, this site arrives at 1,700 and 1,408 respectively.

The hepatocellular carcinoma part of the same table gives 1,416 cases, of which 1,057 (74.6%) had a record of hepatitis B infection. 1,416 ÷ 1,700 is about 83.3% (this site's calculation); the "about 90%" in the Centre for Health Protection's Liver Cancer Prevention and Screening — Cancer Prevention Series 7 leaflet does not state a statistical year and is not a restatement of this 2023 table. Note 5 of that table reads:

Hepatitis B (HBV) or hepatitis C (HCV) infection is confirmed by a positive test or prior documentation.

This proportion does not mean that 74.6% of people with hepatitis B will develop liver cancer, nor that each individual cancer has been determined to have been caused by hepatitis B: the denominator is registered hepatocellular carcinoma cases, and the determination is a positive test or a history of infection.

The Department of Health's press release of 28 July 2026 separately states that about 80 per cent of new cases of primary liver cancer have chronic hepatitis B; §3.6.1 of the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline of January 2026 uses incident hepatocellular carcinoma as the denominator instead, summarising chronic hepatitis B as accounting for 80%. The cancer classification and the definition of infection in these differ from the 2023 registered proportion above, and they cannot be merged into a single percentage.

Bringing the virus under control does not make the risk of liver cancer disappear entirely. On §3.6.1 of the Primary Healthcare Commission guideline (this site's summary), chronic hepatitis B is a risk factor for developing HCC even in the absence of cirrhosis; antiviral therapy does not completely eliminate the risk, and HCC may still develop in some people even after hepatitis B surface antigen loss. This is why surveillance is still arranged on a risk basis after diagnosis.

Assessment of symptoms does not require you to be eligible for the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme first. The Centre for Health Protection's liver cancer leaflet of June 2025 lists pain in the right side of the upper abdomen or abdominal pain, pain in the right shoulder, loss of appetite, weight loss, nausea, drowsiness, lumps in the upper abdomen, yellow skin and eyes or itchy skin, tea-colour urine, light grey stools and ascites, and advises consulting a doctor as soon as possible if any of the listed symptoms develop (this site's summary). Screening advice for asymptomatic people at average risk is not an instruction to people with symptoms to delay diagnosis.


How many people in Hong Kong have hepatitis B? Are "one in ten" and "one in twenty" the same thing?

Current infection, past infection and chronic hepatitis B are not the same statistical definition. The Department of Health's press release of 28 July 2026 cites the Population Health Survey 2020-22 for an estimated hepatitis B prevalence of 5.6% in the general population. §1.1.1 of the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline of January 2026 describes that measure as the seroprevalence of hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) and estimates it as corresponding to around 410,000 individuals (this site's summary). That is an estimate for the survey period; it is not a rate derived from a fresh sample taken in 2026.

The same press release separately describes it as about one in every 20 people in Hong Kong having chronic hepatitis B, and notes that nearly 40 per cent of them are unaware of their infection status and about 70 per cent have no medical follow-up for their liver disease. One in 20 is literally 5%, which is not exactly equal to 5.6%; neither should be rewritten as today's chance of illness for any individual reader.

The Cancer Online Resource Hub's "Liver Cancer" page separately states that about one tenth of the population either carries the virus or has had the infection, which includes people with past infection; that passage gives no survey year. This broader definition is not interchangeable with the HBsAg prevalence above.

Why is 1988 the dividing line? The same press release quotes Dr Bonnie Wong:

In the 1970s, the prevalence of hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection exceeded 10 per cent, posing a significant public health challenge in Hong Kong. Since the 1980s, the Government has progressively implemented a series of effective measures free of charge, including universal antenatal screening for pregnant women, hepatitis B vaccination for all newborns, and administration of hepatitis B immunoglobulin to newborns with high infection risk. These measures have successfully reduced the prevalence of HBV infection significantly.

The Viral Hepatitis Control Office's "Hepatitis B Vaccine" page states the starting year, and that newborns receive three doses — at birth, at one month and at six months of age:

Since 1988, the universal childhood hepatitis B vaccination programme has been implemented in Hong Kong, greatly reducing the risk of HBV infection.

The universal newborn vaccination programme began in 1988; a year of birth cannot establish whether any individual actually completed the course. The Department of Health's press release states that "The prevalence among the younger generation born after the implementation of the universal childhood hepatitis B immunisation programme in 1988 is now below one per cent", and that among people with chronic hepatitis B "most were born before 1988 who did not benefit from the Government's universal childhood hepatitis B immunisation programme"; the same paragraph also states that "Without treatment, about 15 to 40 per cent of people with CHB may develop serious liver diseases like cirrhosis or liver cancer in the long run."


How does the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme work? At what stage does liver cancer screening appear?

The scheme has two phases, and "liver cancer screening" appears only in the second. The Primary Healthcare Commission's press release of 26 January 2026 gives the name and the launch date:

The Primary Healthcare Commission (PHC Commission) under the Health Bureau announced today (January 26) that the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme will be launched on February 7 to identify people with chronic hepatitis B in the community at an early stage and provide long-term follow-up services, with a view to reducing their risk of having cirrhosis, liver cancer and other serious complications. Starting from that day, eligible persons may enrol in the Scheme at District Health Centres/District Health Centre Expresses (collectively referred to as DHCs) to receive a hepatitis B risk assessment, screening and long-term management.

⚠️ The date of announcement and the date of launch are two different days. The next paragraph of the same release sets out the scope of subsidy:

Making reference to the service model of the Chronic Disease Co-Care Pilot Scheme (CDCC Pilot Scheme), the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme subsidises eligible persons to receive chronic hepatitis B screenings and treatment, as well as liver cancer screenings, in the private healthcare sector through strategic purchasing and a co-payment model.

How does the screening phase run? The same release:

DHC staff will arrange eligible participants to undergo a free hepatitis B surface antigen rapid diagnostic test (RDT) at DHCs, and pair them with a family doctor of their own choice. Participants with positive RDT results will be subsidised by the Government to receive further blood tests at the clinic of their chosen and paired family doctor under a co-payment model to confirm whether they are infected with the hepatitis B virus. Under the general service workflow, if the result of the participant's first blood test is positive, the family doctor will arrange a second blood test for the participant six months later to confirm the diagnosis.

The same release goes on to explain that family doctors will assess and diagnose chronic hepatitis B promptly during the process on the basis of laboratory results and clinical conditions and provide treatment; the Annex also contains a branch entering the diagnosed phase on clinical diagnosis (this site's summary). The six-month repeat test in the general workflow does not mean that everyone must wait the full six months before diagnosis or treatment is possible.

Liver cancer screening comes only in the treatment phase. In the one-page flowchart in the Annex to the release, "Liver cancer screening" appears in only one box, headed "Diagnosed with chronic hepatitis B":

Diagnosed with chronic hepatitis B
• Treatment consultation
• Drug prescription
• Liver cancer screening
• Undergo testing, imaging diagnostics as needed, or receive a one-off medicine specialist consultation at a HA designated Specialist Out-patient Clinic via the bi-directional referral mechanism

⚠️ That is to say: liver cancer screening is a subsidised item that arrives after a diagnosis of chronic hepatitis B, on entering the treatment phase; it is not something you get simply by taking the rapid test. For participants who are not diagnosed with chronic hepatitis B after a screening, the release states that they "can continue to receive hepatitis B-related health counselling and education at DHCs".

What does "liver cancer screening" actually include? Annex III of the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline places liver function test (LFT) and alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) in the six-month-interval laboratory package, and lists a liver ultrasonography service. Both of the follow-up pathways in Annex II — on antiviral treatment and not on antiviral treatment — list LFT and AFP every 6 months, alongside recommending HCC surveillance on a risk basis (this site's summary).

Regular AFP testing and ultrasound surveillance are not worded the same way. §3.6.3 of the guideline puts AFP at every six months; liver ultrasound is recommended, preferably every six months. The initial assessment column of Annex II separately says to consider liver ultrasound. These are the guideline's clinical arrangements, and do not mean that every participant has the same guaranteed number of investigations.

The public flowchart and the Frequently Asked Questions page mention liver cancer screening, but those two sources do not itemise the full content of the investigations; the scheme's introduction page does not mention liver cancer at all. For the specific items, see the English guideline above and the scheme's fee arrangements.

Number of participants. The Department of Health's press release of 28 July 2026:

As of July 15 this year, around 33 000 people have enrolled in the Co-care Scheme.


Who is eligible to join? How should the four conditions be read?

Both the scheme's "Eligibility" page and its "Frequently Asked Questions" page list four conditions that must all be met, and the year of birth is only one of them. The FAQ page also explains that anyone who cannot establish the infection status of a family member or sexual partner, or their own vaccination record, may visit a District Health Centre/District Health Centre Express to enquire, and staff will arrange suitable services based on the individual situation (this site's summary).

The scheme's own "Eligibility" page (the page prints a last update date of 26 January 2026) lists four conditions, each joined by "and":

"Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme"
Hong Kong residents* born in or before 1988 (that is the year of the introduction of universal childhood hepatitis B immunisation programme); and
Whose family members (including parents, siblings and offspring) or sexual partners have chronic hepatitis B; and
No known medical history of chronic hepatitis B nor related symptoms; and
Have not received a complete course of hepatitis B vaccination

The press release of 26 January 2026 lists three:

The Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme targets a higher-risk group. Hong Kong residents born in or before 1988 (the introduction year of the universal childhood hepatitis B immunisation programme) with no known medical history of chronic hepatitis B nor related symptoms, while having family members (including parents, siblings and offspring) or sexual partners who contracted chronic hepatitis B being eligible to participate. They have to first register as DHC members and agree to join eHealth.

The official flowchart in the Annex to the release also gives three, set out as bullets: "Hong Kong residents born in or before 1988;", "With no known medical history of chronic hepatitis B nor related symptoms;" and "While having family members (including parents, siblings and offspring) or sexual partners contracted chronic hepatitis B".

The sources differ in scope. Neither the Chinese nor the English press release of 26 January 2026, nor the official flowchart, lists the vaccination condition; the "Eligibility" and "Frequently Asked Questions" pages both set it out, and the latter lists the four again in its category B enrolment arrangements. A release or a flowchart omitting one of them does not constitute a rule that people who have completed vaccination may join, and does not mean the Government has announced that the condition has been removed.

The four conditions have to be met together. Besides the year of birth, the infection status of a family member or sexual partner, having no known medical history of chronic hepatitis B nor related symptoms, and not having received a complete course of hepatitis B vaccination are all eligibility requirements of the scheme; the examples of family members given in the FAQ are not an exhaustive list.

There are two further requirements. "Hong Kong resident" has a definition, set out in the footnote on the same page:

* Holding (1) a valid Hong Kong Identity Card within the meaning of the Registration of Persons Ordinance (Cap. 177), except those who obtained their Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to them and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid, or (2) a valid Certificate of Exemption within the meaning of the Immigration Ordinance (Cap.115)

The same page also sets out the enrolment procedure:

Eligible individuals should visit a DHC/DHCE and register as a member, join eHealth, enrol in the Scheme and choose a Family Doctor; eligible individuals for Cardiovascular Disease Risk Factor Screening and Management can be invited by Family Doctor to enrol in the Scheme directly at the clinic

There is a separate arrangement for the underprivileged. The press release of 26 January 2026 states that if eligible persons are "recipients of the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme, recipients of the Old Age Living Allowance aged 75 or above, or holders of valid medical fee waiver certificates", then "DHCs will arrange for them to receive the same chronic hepatitis B screening and treatment services at 18 designated Family Medicine Clinics of the Hospital Authority. Participants may be granted a full or partial medical fee waiver based on their relevant eligibility when receiving the services."


How much does a participant pay?

The screening phase carries a one-off co-payment; the treatment phase carries a co-payment for each consultation.

Fees for a general participant in the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme. Sources: press release of 26 January 2026, Subsidy & Co-Payment and Introduction (both pages marked 26 January 2026), and the Frequently Asked Questions; Last updated: 2026-09-13. The figures below are not a total cost for a year.
ItemFee and conditions (text in quotation marks is the source's own; the rest is this site's summary)Source and document date
Hepatitis B surface antigen rapid diagnostic test at a District Health CentreScreening includes the free HBsAg rapid diagnostic test arranged by the District Health Centre (applicable to the Hepatitis B Co-care Scheme only)"Subsidy & Co-Payment" page, 26 January 2026
Participant's co-payment for the screening phaseA one-off co-payment of not more than $180, covering all consultations, related laboratory investigations, diagnosis and management plan in the screening phase; see the scheme's Frequently Asked Questions"Subsidy & Co-Payment" page, 26 January 2026; "Frequently Asked Questions" page, retrieved 2026-09-13
Co-payment per consultation in the treatment phaseParticipants "have to pay a co-payment fee determined by the family doctor (Note) for each consultation. The Government has recommended a co-payment fee of $150 per consultation"; Note: that co-payment "must be consistent with the co-payment level set under the CDCC Pilot Scheme"Press release, 26 January 2026
Cap on subsidised consultations (chronic hepatitis B)"Up to four (4) subsidised visits per Scheme Participant within each PPY"; where more than one relevant illness within a disease group is diagnosed, "the maximum number of subsidised visits allotted for a Relevant Illness within each PPY will be determined by the disease group of the Relevant Illness with the highest number of subsidised visits"Scheme introduction page, 26 January 2026
DrugsThe scheme website states that there is no additional payment on receiving drugs within the list of Specified Drugs and/or up to 3 days of drugs for episodic illnesses; the press release separately states that antiviral medicines for hepatitis B treatment are included in the scheme's basic-tier drug list"Subsidy & Co-Payment" page and press release, both 26 January 2026
Medicine specialist consultation under the bi-directional referral mechanism$250 per attendance; $20 for each drug item prescribed, with 4 weeks as the chargeable unit, except for self-financed drugs. This is a one-off consultation, not ordinary specialist follow-up"Subsidy & Co-Payment" and "Frequently Asked Questions" pages, retrieved 2026-09-13
Elderly Health Care Voucher"Elderly Health Care Voucher (including the reward under Pilot Reward Scheme) is applicable to the Scheme""Subsidy & Co-Payment" page, 26 January 2026
Medical fee waiver"Medical fee waiver is not applicable to the Scheme (including one-off Medicine specialist consultation provided by HA under the bi-directional referral mechanism)""Subsidy & Co-Payment" page, 26 January 2026

$180 is a ceiling for the screening phase. The scheme's Frequently Asked Questions state plainly that a one-off co-payment of $180 or less is charged, covering all the consultations, investigations, diagnosis and assessment conclusion in that screening phase. Laboratory investigations in the treatment phase carry a separate co-payment per item, and the two phases cannot be run together.

This site's calculation: if you count only four subsidised consultations per Participant Programme Year for chronic hepatitis B, at a co-payment of $150 each, with no deduction applying, the consultation co-payment subtotal is $600; that is not a total annual expenditure or a guaranteed charge. The family doctor sets the consultation co-payment, and treatment investigations, imaging and services outside the scheme may carry further fees. If you also have an eligible disease such as diabetes or hypertension, the number of subsidised consultations is consolidated on the higher quota; it is not the two schemes added together.

The incentive has a defined target group. The scheme's Frequently Asked Questions item "Which Scheme Participants is the incentive mechanism applicable for?" sets out that it applies to participants with diabetes mellitus and/or hypertension who have been admitted to the treatment phase; health targets are calculated from the second Participant Programme Year onwards, and on achieving them a deduction of up to $150 applies to the first subsidised consultation of the following year (this site's summary). That provision does not name people with chronic hepatitis B alone as a target group, so the $600 cannot be cut to $450 across the board.

The general co-payment arrangement on the scheme website, under which the medical fee waiver does not apply, is a different service arrangement from the one in the press release under which District Health Centres arrange for underprivileged groups to attend 18 designated Hospital Authority Family Medicine Clinics with a waiver based on eligibility. The Elderly Health Care Voucher can be used for the scheme's co-payments.


Do people at high risk have to have an ultrasound every 6 months?

The surveillance arrangements are set out below by document date and by the population they apply to.

Hong Kong's Cancer Expert Working Group on Cancer Prevention and Screening does not recommend routine liver cancer screening for asymptomatic people at average risk. Liver Cancer Prevention and Screening — Cancer Prevention Series 7 (June 2025) carries the Government's Cancer Expert Working Group recommendations:

For asymptomatic population at average risk
• Routine screening for liver cancer, including ultrasound or alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) testing, is NOT recommended for asymptomatic population at average risk.

For asymptomatic persons at increased risk
• Persons with chronic HBV, HCV infection or liver cirrhosis regardless of the cause are at increased risk of hepatocellular carcinoma. Persons at increased risk should seek advice from doctors regarding regular surveillance every 6 months with ultrasound and AFP testing.

⚠️ Note the verb: the sentence says they should "seek advice from doctors regarding regular surveillance every 6 months", not that it must be done every 6 months.

But the Viral Hepatitis Control Office's "Hepatitis and Liver Cancer" page (the page shows a revision date of 27 July 2026) gives a different interval:

Depending on certain criteria such as age, family history, presence of cirrhosis and other clinical parameters, some subgroups are at higher risk and should consider receiving periodic cancer surveillance (e.g. every 6 -12 months) with alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) test and ultrasonography.

The next sentence on the same page hands the decision back to the doctor:

People with chronic HBV infection, HCV infection or cirrhosis should seek advice from doctors to determine their need for and approach of cancer surveillance.

The third source is the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline (First published: Jan 2026), §3.6.3:

Alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) should be performed every six months; and

USG of the liver, preferably every six months, should be recommended

⚠️ The wording is not the same for the two investigations: the guideline uses "should be performed every six months" for alpha-fetoprotein (AFP), and "preferably every six months, should be recommended" for liver ultrasound — the ultrasound sentence carries "preferably".

The Cancer Online Resource Hub's "Liver Cancer" page also carries the Expert Working Group's recommendation to seek advice about surveillance every 6 months. The applicable groups and the tone of these several sources have to be read together; the arrangements for an individual are still determined by clinical assessment, and cannot be inferred from the interval figures in different documents alone.

Both investigations have limits. The Centre for Health Protection's leaflet of June 2025 states that "relying solely on AFP results may not be entirely reliable" and that with abdominal ultrasound "small liver tumours may not be detected", but that "Combining ultrasound with AFP test can improve the accuracy of liver cancer screening."

The guideline's high-risk group has a defined list. §3.6.2.1 of the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline, addressing people with chronic hepatitis B, lists cirrhosis and a family history of HCC (both marked high priority), together with males over 40 years of age and females over 50 years of age. That is this site's summary, not an official quotation in another language. The next paragraph, §3.6.2.2, also states that people with additional risk factors require personalised assessment and shared decision-making, so this list is not a boundary that excludes other risks.

What risk factors are there besides hepatitis B? The "Major risk factors for liver cancer" listed in the Centre for Health Protection's leaflet of June 2025 are, besides "Chronic infection with hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV)": "Cirrhosis", "Metabolic dysfunction-associated fatty liver disease (formerly named as non-alcohol fatty liver disease)", "Alcohol consumption", "Consumption of food contaminated with aflatoxins (such as mouldy peanuts and grains)", "Diabetes mellitus", "Obesity", "Smoking" and "Family history of liver cancer".


Common questions

  • I was born in or before 1988 — does that make me eligible? No. The "Eligibility" page (last update date printed as 26 January 2026) lists four conditions joined by "and", and the year of birth is only the first; the other three are that a family member or sexual partner has chronic hepatitis B, that you have no known medical history of chronic hepatitis B nor related symptoms, and that you have not received a complete course of hepatitis B vaccination. The scheme's "Frequently Asked Questions" list the same four; anyone who cannot establish an infection or a vaccination record may follow that page's guidance and enquire at a District Health Centre/District Health Centre Express, where staff will assess what services are suitable.
  • If I join the scheme, do I get liver cancer screening? On the official flowchart in the Annex to the press release of 26 January 2026, "Liver cancer screening" appears only in the "Diagnosed with chronic hepatitis B" box, and is an item of the treatment phase.
  • If chronic hepatitis B is diagnosed, am I guaranteed an ultrasound every 6 months? §3.6.3 of the Primary Healthcare Commission's English guideline puts liver ultrasound at preferably every six months, and Annex II also says "Consider liver ultrasound" and "Recommend HCC surveillance for those at risk"; the Centre for Health Protection's leaflet says that people at increased risk "should seek advice from doctors regarding regular surveillance every 6 months with ultrasound and AFP testing".
  • How many people in Hong Kong have hepatitis B? The Department of Health's press release of 28 July 2026 cites the Population Health Survey 2020-22 for an estimated hepatitis B surface antigen prevalence of 5.6%, around 410,000 people. That is not a new 2026 survey, and it does not include everyone who was once infected but is no longer surface antigen positive.
  • If my first blood test is positive, must I wait six months before treatment? The six-month repeat test is the general workflow described in the press release; the same release also states that family doctors will assess and diagnose chronic hepatitis B promptly during the process and provide treatment.
  • After the $180, is each screening investigation charged separately? The scheme's Frequently Asked Questions state that the one-off co-payment of not more than $180 covers all the consultations and related investigations in the screening phase; treatment phase fees follow the scheme's separate arrangements.

Related article: 〈The Chronic Disease Co-Care Scheme〉


What this article does not state

  • This article does not treat a population-level proportion of hepatitis B-related liver cancer as an individual hepatitis B patient's chance of developing cancer.
  • The guideline's wording on AFP testing every six months and its recommendation of ultrasound preferably every six months each have their own scope; this article does not write them up as the same guaranteed service for everyone.
  • The eligibility page lists four conditions; the Chinese and English press releases of 26 January 2026 and the flowchart in the Annex list three. That comparison is limited to those four sources, and it cannot be inferred that documents not listing the vaccination condition have removed it.
  • The number of participating family doctors does not appear in the three sources consulted — the Chinese press release of 26 January 2026, the Chinese press release of 28 July 2026 and the scheme's "Frequently Asked Questions". That limit does not mean the Government has never published it.
  • This article cannot assess an individual's risk, provide a prescription or decide what investigations are needed.
  • This is the English edition. The Traditional Chinese edition is the authoritative version of this article. Quotations above are reproduced from the official English text published by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, not translated by this site. Where the Chinese edition marks a passage as this site's Chinese summary of an English-only document, the English edition draws on that document's own English text and keeps the "this site's summary" attribution.

Sources

Official arrangements may be updated; the announcements of the Primary Healthcare Commission and the District Health Centres govern. This article is health information, not medical advice, and cannot assess the risk of any individual or decide whether that person needs any investigation.