Last updated: 2026-09-13

The Centre for Health Protection's "Number of registered deaths by leading cause of death, 2001 - 2025" shows 11,260 registered deaths from pneumonia (ICD-10: J12-J18) in 2025, ranking second in that table's ordering by the number of registered deaths in 2025, behind malignant neoplasms; the table marks the 2025 column as provisional figures. The same Centre's "Number of registered deaths by leading cause of death by sex and age group, 2025" shows that 10,705 of those 11,260 people were in the "65 & above" band — that is 95.1% (this site's calculation from that table's figures; the whole 2025 dataset in that table is likewise marked as provisional). The Government's Pneumococcal Vaccination Programme provides free or subsidised vaccination for eligible elderly aged 65 years or above, and the Centre's "Statistics on Vaccination Programmes in the Past 3 years" (page date 2026-08-31) gives the "Cumulative % among elderly population" for 2025/26 as 44.9%, noting that the percentage is calculated on the accumulated number of persons vaccinated as at 28 February 2026, and that it counts only vaccinations given under the Government's programmes. ⚠️ The biggest myth: seeing the pneumonia crude death rate rise from 45.1 to 150.2 and taking that to mean pneumonia has got worse — on the very page that prints those figures, the Centre for Health Protection states that where the age structure of the population has changed, "direct comparisons of crude death rates over time can be highly misleading"; over the same years the age-standardised death rate went from 32.4 to 41.8, and it has fallen for two years running since peaking in 2023.

When to seek medical advice: the Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Infection" page advises seeking medical advice promptly when respiratory symptoms appear; the Elderly Health Service likewise says that if an elderly person frequently chokes while eating, medical advice should be sought as soon as possible. For a person whose airway is completely obstructed and who cannot cough, the Fire Services Department's "Choking" page says to dial "999" for an ambulance. The statistics and vaccination arrangements below are not a tool for judging how urgent an individual case is.


Where does pneumonia rank in Hong Kong? How many people die of it?

The Centre for Health Protection's leading-causes table is ordered by the number of registered deaths in 2025, and pneumonia is on the second row. The table's own subtitle states:

Number of registered deaths by leading cause of death (based on ICD 10th Revision) : 2001 - 2025
(Ranking according to the number of registered deaths in 2025)

The pneumonia row (ICD-10: J12-J18) is 11,260 for 2025; malignant neoplasms (ICD-10: C00-C97), ranked first, is 15,368; "All causes" is 51750.

⚠️ The table's notes state "# Provisional figures.", and the # hangs on the 2025 column heading (printed on the table as 2025 #). That is, the 2025 column can still change.

Doing the arithmetic (this site's calculation from the figures quoted above): 11,260 ÷ 51,750 = 21.8%. So for every 100 registered deaths in 2025, about 22 had pneumonia as the leading cause. For 2024 it is 11,395 ÷ 52366, which is also 21.8%.

Who most needs to know: anyone with an elderly person at home who has seen a news report calling pneumonia "the second biggest killer" and wants to know where that comes from.

⚠️ This ranking is only a ranking by the number of registered deaths. It does not say that pneumonia is "more dangerous" than other diseases, and it is not a ranking by incidence. The table's figures are based on deaths registered under the Births and Deaths Registration Ordinance (Cap. 174, Laws of Hong Kong).


"Pneumonia is getting more common" — what do the official figures actually say?

The crude death rate and the age-standardised death rate, from the same Centre and over the same years, tell stories of very different size; and on the page that prints the crude death rate, the Centre for Health Protection prints a warning of its own. Immediately after the crude death rate table, that page prints:

Since death rates for most diseases are strongly age-dependent and typically increase with age, direct comparisons of crude death rates over time can be highly misleading if the underlying age structure of the population has changed. Therefore, age-standardised death rates for the leading causes of death, which eliminate the effect of changes in age composition, are also presented in the following table to enable valid intertemporal comparisons.

This site's summary: an ageing population can by itself push the crude death rate up; the crude rate alone cannot tell you how the risk from the disease itself has changed. Nor do these two tables separate out the effect of population ageing from any other factor.

Two death rates for pneumonia (ICD-10: J12-J18), 2001 and 2025. Sources: Department of Health, Centre for Health Protection, "Death rate by leading cause of death, 2001 - 2025" (Revision Date 2026/07/29): https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/statistics/data/10/27/117.html , and "Age-standardised death rate by leading cause of death, 2001 - 2025" (Revision Date 2026/07/30): https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/statistics/data/10/27/339.html (Last updated: 2026-09-13). Both tables note "# Provisional figures.", with the # hanging on the 2025 column; both sets of notes likewise state "Figures may not add up to total due to rounding." The multiples this article calculates from these two rows below are this site's own arithmetic on the published, already-rounded values. Crude death rate = number of registered deaths per 100 000 mid-year population; age-standardised death rate (below, ASR) = number of registered deaths per 100 000 standard population. In reading this table, the warning the Centre for Health Protection prints after the crude death rate table applies at the same time: where the age structure of the population has changed, "direct comparisons of crude death rates over time can be highly misleading".
Measure20012025 (provisional figures)Highest value in the period
Crude death rate
(per 100 000 mid-year population)
45.1150.2151.4 in 2024
Age-standardised death rate (ASR)
(per 100 000 standard population)
32.441.844.6 in 2023

⚠️ An ASR is not a count of real people. The table's + note states:

+ Based on the world standard population specified in GPE Discussion Paper Series: No.31, EIP/GPE/EBD, World Health Organization, 2001.

In other words, the ASR is Hong Kong's figures recalculated onto a fixed "standard population" age structure so that years can be compared; it cannot be read as "41.8 out of every 100 000 people in Hong Kong".

Doing the arithmetic (this site's calculation from the figures quoted above from the two tables): the crude death rate went from 45.1 to 150.2, a factor of 3.33; the ASR went from 32.4 to 41.8, a factor of 1.29. The ASR series peaked in 2023 (44.6), then 43.7 in 2024 and 41.8 in 2025 — two consecutive falls; the 41.8 for 2025 is the same value as 2019, and lower than 2012 (42.0), 2015 (42.0), 2016 (42.1), 2022 (42.5), 2023 (44.6) and 2024 (43.7).

Comparing the ten leading causes in that ASR table for 2001 and 2025 (this site's comparison), only two have a 2025 ASR higher than in 2001 — pneumonia (32.4 → 41.8) and dementia (2.6 → 4.5). By way of contrast, the ASR for malignant neoplasms fell from 133.5 to 80.5, and the ASR for "All causes" fell from 381.3 to 244.9. The 2025 registered deaths from both of those causes are extremely concentrated among elderly people: in the same Centre's table by age group, "65 & above" accounts for 10,705 of 11,260 pneumonia deaths and 1,429 of 1,434 dementia deaths (this site's calculation from that table's figures gives 95.1% and 99.7% respectively).

⚠️ This article does not explain why the ASR for those two causes has risen. The Centre for Health Protection pages cited here print no reason for it.


What is pneumococcal infection? How does it spread?

The Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Infection" health topic page (page date 12 December 2025) gives a one-sentence definition:

Pneumococcal infection is caused by the bacteria Streptococcus pneumoniae (pneumococcus).

The opening paragraph of the page's "Clinical features" section reads as follows (after that paragraph the page prints "Clinical presentation depends on the site of infection:" and four items — middle ear infection, chest infection, meningitis, and infection of the blood stream; only the chest infection item is reproduced here):

Streptococcus pneumoniae causes a wide range of diseases, more common ones include middle ear infection (acute otitis media) and chest infection (pneumonia). It may also cause various forms of invasive pneumococcal diseases (IPD), such as infection of the brain membranes (meningitis) and blood stream (bacteraemia and sepsis). The infection can be serious or even life-threatening.

The page sets out clinical presentation by site of infection, and the chest infection item states:

Chest infection (pneumonia) can present with fever, shortness of breath, chills and productive cough. It may result in death in severe cases.

Mode of transmission and incubation period, in the page's own words:

Pneumococci are commonly found in the nose and throat of healthy people, particularly in children. Occasionally, these bacteria will cause an infection. They mainly spread through droplets via coughing and sneezing, close contact with the patients or contact with materials soiled with the bacteria.

Incubation period

About 1 - 3 days.

For high-risk groups, the page lists "Young children", "The elderly" and "Persons with:" a history of IPD; weakened immunity, such as asplenic patients, cancer patients, HIV/AIDS patients; chronic illnesses such as diabetes mellitus; and cochlear (inner ear) implants.

Management, together with the page's own qualification:

The disease can be treated with appropriate antibiotics. However, the emergence of drug-resistant strains of pneumococci has made treatment more difficult.

⚠️ That passage is about "pneumococcal infection", not about the "Pneumonia" row in the leading-causes table. That table labels the row "Pneumonia (ICD-10: J12-J18)", which is the coding range the table itself sets; pneumococcus is only one of the pathogens that can cause pneumonia. The pages cited in this article do not print which specific codes the J12-J18 range contains, and do not print how many pneumonia deaths in Hong Kong are caused by pneumococcus; nor does this article make any such statement.


How many pneumonia deaths are among elderly people?

In the pneumonia row of the Centre for Health Protection's "Number of registered deaths by leading cause of death by sex and age group, 2025", "65 & above" is 10,705 and the total is 11260. Male is 5,830 (total 6,214); female is 4,875 (total 5,046).

Doing the arithmetic (this site's calculation from that table's figures): 10,705 ÷ 11,260 = 95.1%. In the same table, "All causes" at 65 and above is 43,106 out of a total of 51750, which is 83.3%. So even though deaths in Hong Kong are already heavily concentrated among elderly people (83.3%), pneumonia is more concentrated still (95.1%).

⚠️ The whole 2025 dataset in this table is marked as provisional figures. The table's data column heading is printed as "Number of registered deaths by sex and age group in 2025 #", and the notes state "# Provisional figures." — the # hangs on the whole column heading, not on a single column.

⚠️ The oldest age band in that table is "65 & above"; there is no 65-74 / 75-84 / 85+ breakdown, and no cut at age 80. So this article does not, and cannot, say anything separately about the oldest elderly people.

Two other rows in the same table are worth reading alongside: dementia (ICD-10: F01-F03), 1,434 in total, of which 1,429 are "65 & above"; and chronic lower respiratory diseases (ICD-10: J40-J47), 1,034 in total, of which 961 are "65 & above".

Who most needs to know: family members caring for an elderly person with a long-term condition or limited mobility.


What does swallowing difficulty have to do with pneumonia?

The Department of Health Elderly Health Service page "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty" links swallowing difficulty directly to aspiration pneumonia. The page opens:

Eating is a human basic need. It also makes us satisfied and contented. However, some elderly persons may have swallowing difficulty. In such cases, the food cannot be safely delivered from the mouth to the gastrointestinal system which affects the absorption of nutrition and fluid. Swallowing difficulty must be managed as it can lead to choking or aspiration pneumonia in severe cases.

Under "If severe, it can lead to:", the page lists three items:

Aspiration pneumonia
Tracheal obstruction and suffocation
Malnutrition and dehydration (weight loss, dry skin)

Immediately after those three items, the same page prints a set of signs. In its own words:

Signs of Suffocation:
Hands held around the neck, unable to speak or with obvious breathing difficulty
Engorged face and neck veins, lips turning blue, loss of consciousness in severe cases

For a choking patient whose airway is completely obstructed and who cannot cough, the Fire Services Department's "Choking" page says to dial "999" for an ambulance. That is the Fire Services Department's instruction for choking; it is not a diagnostic standard for pneumonia. Fire Services Department

The next section of the page is headed "Risk Factors for Swallowing Difficulty/ Choking" — that is, it covers both swallowing difficulty and choking. Its first item states:

Chronic diseases, especially neurological diseases such as stroke, Parkinson's disease, dementia, etc.

The remaining items in that section are: eating too quickly; elderly with impaired chewing or swallowing abilities, e.g. dental problems, ill-fitting denture, etc.; inappropriate food texture e.g. too firm, too hard, too large, too slippery, too chewy or sticky; improper positioning: eating in a lying position; and distraction during eating.

After that section the page prints a block headed "Practical Tips for Reducing Risk of Choking in Elderly:", divided into "Tip 1: Characteristics of food", "Tip 2: Eating posture" and "Tip 3: Eating environment", covering food consistency, texture, shape and portion, and the eating environment in concrete terms. This article does not reproduce that block — it is a list of care practices, and falls outside the statistics and programmes this article covers; readers who need it can go to the page itself.

Swallowing difficulty is a further risk in caring for elderly people. The page lists dementia as a risk factor for swallowing difficulty and choking, and lists aspiration pneumonia as a serious consequence. This clinical relationship cannot be used to explain the ASR changes for the two causes of death discussed above, and no number of registered deaths can be derived from it.

⚠️ Be careful: this link is the page's own statement, and it does not mean anything about how many of the 11,260 deaths in the leading-causes table were aspiration pneumonia. That table's row is printed as "Pneumonia (ICD-10: J12-J18)"; none of the pages cited in this article prints how aspiration pneumonia is classified in the cause-of-death statistics, or whether it is counted in that row, and none prints how many aspiration pneumonia deaths there are in Hong Kong. This article makes no statement on any of that.

⚠️ Nor does this article define what "aspiration pneumonia" is, or say how it differs from other pneumonias pathologically or in treatment. None of the eleven main sources listed at the end prints a definition of aspiration pneumonia; the page only lists it as a serious consequence of swallowing difficulty, without defining it.

⚠️ Nor does this article draw the line between "community-acquired pneumonia" and aspiration pneumonia. The term "community-acquired pneumonia" does not appear once in the pages cited in this article — which does not mean the Government has never discussed it elsewhere, only that this article has no basis for discussing it.


How does the Government's pneumococcal vaccination programme work?

The Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Vaccination" page (page date 2026-08-31) states that the programme runs throughout the year and has two dosing arrangements, the dividing line being whether the person has a "high risk condition". In its own words:

The Government's Pneumococcal Vaccination Programme will continue throughout the year, providing free or subsidised pneumococcal vaccination for eligible elderly aged 65 years or above. Persons without high risk conditions3 are eligible to receive one dose of 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine (23vPPV). Persons with high risk conditions3 are eligible to receive one dose of 15-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV15), followed by one dose of 23vPPV one year after.

(The paragraph above is reproduced verbatim from that page, including its phrase "one year after".)

Past records have to be checked before vaccination. Question 21 of the Centre for Health Protection's "Frequently Asked Questions on Pneumococcal Vaccination" states that elderly people should try to find all their previous vaccination records or cards and bring them to their attending doctor; that they may also go back to the clinics where they received previous vaccinations to trace the records; and that if the records still cannot be traced, they should tell their doctor their vaccination history as far as they can recall so the doctor can make an assessment. Question 22 deals specifically with elderly people who have high-risk conditions but are not sure of the type and timing of past vaccination: first trace the record from the clinics that gave previous doses; and if the record still cannot be traced and the type and time of vaccination cannot be recalled, the Centre states that "they should still receive the recommended doses, i.e. a single dose of PCV15 followed by a dose of 23vPPV one year later". That answer is limited to two things — a high-risk condition and an unclear record — and cannot be applied as the arrangement for everyone who has been vaccinated before. Frequently asked questions 21-22

How is a "high risk condition" defined? Footnote 3 of the Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Vaccination" programme overview page reads:

3 High-risk conditions include:

History of invasive pneumococcal disease, cerebrospinal fluid leakage or cochlear implant;
Chronic cardiovascular (except hypertension without complication), lung, liver or kidney diseases;
Metabolic diseases including diabetes mellitus or obesity (Body Mass Index 30 or above);
Immunocompromised states related to weakened immune system due to conditions such as asplenia, HIV/AIDS or cancer/steroid treatment; and
Chronic neurological conditions that can compromise respiratory functions, the handling of respiratory secretions, increase the risk for aspiration or those who lack the ability to take care of themselves.

⚠️ Note the last item — "increase the risk for aspiration". As that page is written, the programme's own high-risk provision already contains an item framed in exactly those terms (this site's reading: this item is the same kind of risk as the one discussed in the "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty" page in the previous section; neither page refers to the other in terms, and this article draws no further inference from it).

Why PCV15 rather than the 20-valent vaccine? The Department of Health's response of 5 September 2025, "DH responds to media enquiries about pneumococcal vaccine", states:

In September 2023, the SCVPD conducted a comprehensive review of the use of the pneumococcal vaccine in Hong Kong based on the latest scientific evidence and developments at that time. After analysing and comparing the 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV13), which was in use at that time, with two newer vaccines available on the market, namely the 20-valent pneumococcal conjugated vaccine (PCV20) and the 15-valent pneumococcal conjugated vaccine (PCV15), the SCVPD concluded that the PCV15 induced higher immunogenicity against Serotype 3. It was believed to be more effective in preventing invasive pneumococcal disease (IPD) caused by this serotype.

Since Serotype 3 is one of the most common pneumococcal strains causing IPD in Hong Kong, accounting for approximately half of all cases, the SCVPD recommended replacing the PCV13 with the PCV15 in both the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme (HKCIP) and the Government Pneumococcal Vaccination Programme. High-risk elderly shall administer one dose of the PCV15, followed by one dose of the 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine one year later.

The more recent "Frequently Asked Questions on Pneumococcal Vaccination" from the Centre for Health Protection (2026-08-31), at question 10, gives the serotype 3 share of invasive pneumococcal disease cases of all ages reported from 2023 to April 2026 as 40%. That question describes PCV15 as inducing higher immunogenicity against serotype 3, but states at the same time that this "may potentially be more effective in preventing IPD caused by serotype 3, although further evidence on clinical effectiveness and impact is still pending." So the 2025 statement of the reason for the choice, quoted above, should not be read as established proof that PCV15 has better clinical effect against all pneumonia.

When did the switch begin? The remarks on the Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Vaccination" page state:

Starting from 5 August 2024, 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV13) has been replaced by PCV15 under the Government Vaccination Programme (GVP) following the latest recommendation from the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases.

⚠️ That is the answer to "what would change this arrangement": a recommendation from the Scientific Committee on Vaccine Preventable Diseases (the Scientific Committee), which takes effect once the Government accepts it. The same Department of Health response also states that the Centre and the Scientific Committee "will opportunely review the epidemiology situation of IPD in Hong Kong, the latest scientific evidence on the use of relevant vaccines and the development of new vaccines (such as the 21-valent pneumococcal conjugated vaccine). Vaccination recommendations will be updated as necessary." This article does not predict whether or when there will be another change.

Subsidy arrangements for persons aged 65 years or above (counted by year of birth) under the Government's Pneumococcal Vaccination Programme. That page prints the whole eligibility column heading as "Eligible Hong Kong Residents", and this table keeps that heading. Source: Department of Health, Centre for Health Protection, "Pneumococcal Vaccination" (page date 2026-08-31; footer Revision Date 2026/08/31): https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/features/108124.html (Last updated: 2026-09-13). The amounts in the table are the Government subsidy, not the price the patient pays. 23vPPV = 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide vaccine; PCV15 = 15-valent pneumococcal conjugate vaccine.
Eligible Hong Kong Residents (persons aged 65 years or above, counted by year of birth)Service providersThe arrangement as that page prints it
AllPrivate clinics enrolled under Vaccination Subsidy SchemeGovernment Subsidy: 23vPPV: HK$400 per dose; PCV15: HK$800 per dose
With high-risk conditions; or Recipients of Comprehensive Social Security Assistance or holders of valid Certificate for Wavier of Medical Charges issued by the Social Welfare DepartmentPublic clinicsFree

⚠️ HK$400 and HK$800 are the Government subsidy, not the price the patient pays. Footnote 1 on that page states: "Applicable for doctors enrolled under Vaccination Subsidy Scheme(VSS). The doctor may impose extra fees, some doctors may not charge extra fees." Footnote 2 states: "Some clinics provide pneumococcal vaccination for existing patients/ clients/ members of the designated public clinics only."

⚠️ The programme's eligibility column heading is "Eligible Hong Kong Residents", and the "Hong Kong Identity Card" item is not merely a document to bring — it carries an exclusion note of its own. That page's list of documents to be presented for vaccination is "Hong Kong Identity Card@ or Certificate of Exemption; and The immunisation records (vaccination cards) (if any).", and the "@" note reads:

@ Except for those who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid.

Other arrangements that page states: recipients aged 18 or above must register for eHealth; also, "HA clinics/ hospitals or DH clinics may offer free pneumococcal vaccination to clinically indicated existing patients outside the above eligibility groups based on doctor's clinical decision"; and the remarks also state, "If you are not in the above-mentioned eligible groups to receive free or subsidised vaccination, you may consult your family doctor and consider vaccination at your own expense for personal protection."

Who most needs to know: anyone with a household member aged 65 or above who wants to know which of the two arrangements applies to them. ⚠️ Whether someone has a "high risk condition" is a clinical judgment; this article does not and cannot place anyone in a category.


44.9% vaccination coverage — 44.9% of what, exactly?

It is the cumulative percentage, among the elderly population, of surviving elderly people who have had at least one dose under the Government's programmes, as at 28 February 2026 (this site's summary of that page's + note; the note itself is quoted below). The Centre for Health Protection's "Statistics on Vaccination Programmes in the Past 3 years" (page date 2026-08-31) gives the pneumococcal vaccine "Cumulative % among elderly population" as 41.5% in 2023/24, 44.2% in 2024/25 and 44.9% in 2025/26.

Two limits go with it, and that page prints both itself (the two sentences marked "this site" below are this site's reading of what the page states in terms, not the page's own words):

  1. It counts only the Government's programmes. The top of that page states: "The Government provides free or subsidised seasonal influenza vaccination and pneumococcal vaccination to eligible Hong Kong residents (target groups). The following statistics include the number of doses administered to target groups under Seasonal Influenza Vaccination Programmes and Pneumococcal Vaccination Programmes. The following statistics do not include vaccinations administered through other sectors." This site, on the express scope of that sentence: vaccination through channels outside the Government's programmes is not counted; vaccination at a private clinic enrolled in the subsidy scheme where the patient pays the difference is still within the Government's programmes, so 44.9% is a cumulative percentage under the Government's programmes, not an estimate of the territory-wide vaccination rate.
  2. The "as at" date for the percentage is not the date in the column heading. The column heading prints "2025/26 (as at 31 August 2026)", but the percentage has a separate note: "The relevant figures are calculated based on the accumulative number of persons vaccinated (excluding those deceased) as at 28 February 2026." The date in the column heading governs the "Number of vaccine recipients" row above it (113,600 in 2025/26); that row's * note separately states: "Including 63 700 doses of 23vPPV and 49 900 doses of PCV15." — that is, the row counts people and the note counts doses, and the page writes the two in different units.

⚠️ That page does not print an end date for the 2025/26 year, and does not state whether that year is over or still running; this article makes no statement about it.

The definition of the percentage, in the page's own words:

+ Refers to the cumulative percentage of surviving elderly, among elderly population, who had received at least a dose of 23vPPV; PCV13 or PCV15 under the programmes.

⚠️ The elderly seasonal influenza vaccination figures on the same page (51.5%, 51.8% and 49.2% for 2023/24 to 2025/26) carry a different note and are constructed differently; this article does not set the two sets of figures side by side.

The Department of Health also gave a set of coverage figures when responding to media enquiries on 5 September 2025. The quotation below starts at the beginning of that paragraph, because the first sentence is what fixes the year for every figure in it:

In 2024/25, the Government administered approximately 127 000 doses of the pneumococcal vaccine through various vaccination programmes, representing a 12 per cent increase compared to the same period in 2023/24. Under relevant Government vaccination programmes, over 750 000 elderly aged 65 or above received pneumococcal vaccine, with a coverage rate of about 44 per cent, an increased of about 5 per cent compared to the same period in 2023/24. Approximately 65 per cent of the residents in residential care homes for the elderly received pneumococcal vaccine.

⚠️ That "about 44 per cent" is the 2024/25 figure, and corresponds to the 44.2% for 2024/25 quoted above from the same Centre's statistics page, not to the 44.9% for 2025/26. The two cannot be treated as a rough version and a precise version of the same point in time.

⚠️ "Approximately 65 per cent of the residents" gives no denominator and no specific cut-off date. That response does not state how many residential care homes or how many residents it covers, nor up to what date it is calculated; none of the other pages cited in this article supplies that denominator.

⚠️ A paragraph further on, the same response states: "Currently, there is no universally recognised standard for pneumococcal vaccine coverage rate worldwide, and pneumococcal vaccine coverage rates vary significantly across different regions." (The paragraph in between is about a survey of pre-school children.) Also, "an increased of about 5 per cent" does not say whether it is percentage points or a relative change, and this article does not convert it into percentage points.


What does the flu vaccine have to do with pneumonia?

The Centre for Health Protection mentions pneumonia in two places in its influenza vaccination frequently asked questions (page date 2026-08-31): once as something influenza can lead to, and once as a risk that influenza vaccination can reduce. The first (an extract from question 1 on that page):

However, if persons with weakened immunity and elderly persons get infected, it can be a serious illness and may be complicated by bronchitis, pneumonia, encephalopathy, or even death in the most serious cases.

The second (question 9, on residential care homes):

For residents in RCHE, seasonal influenza vaccination is recommended for reducing the risk of complications from influenza including hospitalisation, pneumonia and death.

Question 39 on the same page states: "Yes. Pneumococcal vaccine can be given with seasonal influenza vaccine at the same clinic visit, but should be administered with a different syringe and at a different injection site if inactivated influenza vaccine or recombinant influenza vaccine is used."

⚠️ The answer to question 34 on vaccine efficacy has two paragraphs, and neither can be left out; both have to be quoted to the full stop. The first paragraph:

According to systematic reviews, influenza vaccines reduced the risk of influenza illness by 40% to 60% among the overall population during seasons when most circulating viruses closely matched with the vaccine strains. Among individuals aged less than 65 years, the estimates ranged from 70 % to 90%.

The second paragraph:

In older adults, protection that inactivated vaccines offer in preventing influenza illness was modest. A review of existing studies suggested that, in this age group, recombinant influenza vaccines may be potentially more effective than standard-dose inactivated vaccines. For live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV), overseas studies and clinical experience had generally shown that LAIV is a safe vaccine, providing comparable protection against influenza to that offered by inactivated influenza vaccine.

The two sets of percentages have different bases: the base for 40%-60% is the "overall population" as that page itself writes it, with elderly people included (question 7 on the same page prints the figure again on that same base); it is 70%-90% that is expressly confined to "individuals aged less than 65 years", and so does not cover people aged 65 and over. That page prints no separate percentage for elderly people, and describes the degree of protection for them only as "modest"; and in the sentence immediately following, the page compares recombinant and inactivated vaccines for elderly people (it writes "in this age group"). Both sets of figures are about the risk of "influenza illness", not pneumonia; the pages cited in this article print no quantified effect of influenza vaccination in preventing pneumonia itself.


Does the Government say anything about when to see a doctor?

Yes, and in more than one place; but each statement sits under its own topic, and none of them is a pneumonia warning-sign list. What follows reproduces each page's own wording, with nothing added, removed or rewritten, and in no order of priority.

The Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Infection" page, within the personal hygiene part of its prevention section:

When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or attending class at school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly.

The same Centre's "Frequently Asked Questions on Seasonal Influenza Vaccination for the 2026-27 Season in Hong Kong" page prints the same item, worded slightly differently, in the personal and environmental hygiene group under question 4 (If the level of local seasonal influenza activity increases, how can people protect themselves against flu?):

When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask, refrain from work or attending classes at school, avoid going to crowded places and seek medical advice promptly; and

The same page has separate guidance for after vaccination, printed three times word for word — at the end of the answers to question 24 (side effects of inactivated influenza vaccine), question 25 (side effects of recombinant influenza vaccine) and question 26 (side effects of live attenuated influenza vaccine):

Side effects are generally mild and temporary. If you experience persistent fever, severe allergic reactions (e.g. difficulty in breathing, swelling of the lip or tongue, hives, etc.) or other adverse events after receiving vaccination, please consult a doctor immediately.

Question 44 on the same page (feeling unwell after receiving a COVID-19 vaccine and a seasonal influenza vaccine at the same time) states:

If symptoms persist, or if allergic reactions (such as hives or facial swelling) or serious side effects occur, you should seek medical advice promptly.

Question 28 on that page (whether a person with a history of Guillain-Barré syndrome can be vaccinated) sets out the step before vaccination:

As it is unknown whether seasonal influenza vaccination is causally associated with increased risk of recurrent Guillain-Barré syndrome (GBS), precaution should be taken to ascertain the temporal relationship if there is a history of GBS. Please consult your doctor for advice before receiving vaccination.

The Department of Health Elderly Health Service page "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty", besides the "Signs of Suffocation" set quoted above, states at the end of the page:

Elderly persons may have different degrees of swallowing difficulty. Please seek advice from healthcare professionals for their further assessment. If frequent choking is observed, please seek medical advice as soon as possible.

⚠️ Every sentence above stays within its own topic: respiratory symptoms, reactions after vaccination, and swallowing and choking. This article does not merge them into a single list, and does not add weight or urgency to any of them.

⚠️ None of the official pages cited in this article prints a warning-sign list of the "at what point does pneumonia mean going straight to Accident and Emergency" kind, and this article will not assemble one. The "fever, shortness of breath, chills and productive cough" listed on the "Pneumococcal Infection" page above is written by that page as the presentation of pneumococcal pneumonia, not as a threshold for "when is it urgent" — this article handles it as that page writes it, and does not turn it into a standard for judging urgency. Whether a case is urgent is for healthcare professionals to judge on the clinical circumstances.


Is there any local survey of what Hong Kong people know about the pneumococcal vaccine?

There is one, but note its year, its nature and who was surveyed — the respondents were "aged 50 and above", not the 65 and above that the rest of this article is about. The Hong Kong Alliance of Patients' Organizations and the School of Nursing of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University published a questionnaire survey in 2023; the press release carries the dateline "HONG KONG SAR – Media OutReach – 10 September 2023", and the Alliance posted it on its own website on 11 September 2023. The release describes its own method:

The Hong Kong Alliance of Patients' Organizations partnered with the School of Nursing of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University to conduct a territory-wide survey through 90 trained elderly health ambassadors, inviting individuals aged 50 and above to answer questions about their knowledge of pneumococcus and their attitudes towards vaccination. This extensive outreach has successfully garnered over 2,000 completed surveys

One of the results it lists:

Although the majority of people know that vaccination is an effective way to prevent pneumococcal infection, about half of the respondents have not been vaccinated.
The primary reason for not getting vaccinated is "not knowing /do not have adequate knowledge about the pneumococcal vaccine". In addition, "lack of sufficient vaccine information" and "fear of vaccine side effects" are common reasons for not getting vaccinated.

⚠️ Four things have to be said alongside this survey. First, it is a 2023 survey, and the programme it describes is the PCV13 / 23vPPV arrangement — the Government's programme changed on 5 August 2024 to replace PCV13 with PCV15, so the release's description of the programme is no longer the current arrangement. Second, the original vehicle for the release is a press release distribution platform (Media OutReach), published on the Alliance's own site, with no methodological appendix, no confidence intervals and no published questionnaire. Third, the release gives the sample size only as "over 2,000 completed surveys" and the unvaccinated proportion only as "about half"; this article quotes no precise sample size, and does not quote a statement in the release by one doctor about a multiple of hospitalisation risk that the release gives no source for. (The release also has a "More than 80% of respondents" item, which is about willingness to be vaccinated rather than vaccination uptake, and this article does not quote it either.) Fourth, the respondents were "individuals aged 50 and above", a different age line from the 65 and above of the Government's pneumococcal vaccination programme, and this article does not read the survey's results as figures about elderly people.


Common questions

  • Is pneumonia Hong Kong's second leading cause of death? In the ordering used by the Centre for Health Protection's "Number of registered deaths by leading cause of death, 2001 - 2025" (the table states expressly that the ranking is "according to the number of registered deaths in 2025"), pneumonia ranks second, with 11,260 in 2025, behind malignant neoplasms at 15368. The table marks the 2025 column as provisional figures.
  • So is it true that "the pneumonia death rate has tripled"? The crude death rate went from 45.1 in 2001 to 150.2 in 2025 (per 100 000 mid-year population), but on the same page the Centre for Health Protection states that where the age structure of the population has changed, "direct comparisons of crude death rates over time can be highly misleading". Over the same period the age-standardised death rate went from 32.4 to 41.8 (per 100 000 standard population), and after peaking at 44.6 in 2023 it has fallen for two years. Both figures have to be read together.
  • Is it mainly elderly people who die of it? Of the 11,260 registered pneumonia deaths in 2025 (provisional figures), 10,705 were in the "65 & above" band, which is 95.1% (this site's calculation from that table). The same table's figure for "All causes" in the same band is 83.3%. The oldest band in that table is "65 & above", with no further breakdown.
  • How much does a pneumococcal vaccination cost for someone over 65? The Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Vaccination" page prints the whole eligibility column as "Eligible Hong Kong Residents" and limits it to persons aged 65 years or above (counted by year of birth). Within that column, people with high-risk conditions, or recipients of Comprehensive Social Security Assistance or holders of a valid Certificate for Wavier of Medical Charges issued by the Social Welfare Department, are vaccinated free at public clinics; "All" receive a Government subsidy at private clinics enrolled under the Vaccination Subsidy Scheme, of HK$400 per dose for 23vPPV and HK$800 per dose for PCV15. ⚠️ Those two are subsidy amounts; footnote 1 on that page states, "The doctor may impose extra fees, some doctors may not charge extra fees." ⚠️ That page also carries an "@" note on the "Hong Kong Identity Card" item, which states: "Except for those who obtained a Hong Kong Identity Card by virtue of a previous permission to land or remain in Hong Kong granted to him/ her and such permission has expired or ceased to be valid."
  • One dose or two? The programme overview distinguishes by whether the person has a high-risk condition: without one, a single dose of 23vPPV; with one, PCV15 first and 23vPPV one year after. A doctor needs to refer to past records before providing the appropriate vaccine. Question 22 of the Centre for Health Protection's frequently asked questions states, for elderly people who have high-risk conditions but are not sure of the type and timing of past vaccination: first trace the record from the clinics that gave previous doses; and if the record still cannot be traced and the type and time of vaccination cannot be recalled, they should still receive a dose of PCV15 followed by a dose of 23vPPV one year later. Classification as high risk and the actual arrangement are for a doctor to assess; that question is not a general arrangement for everyone who has been vaccinated before.
  • Can the pneumococcal vaccine and the flu vaccine be given on the same day? Question 39 of that Centre's influenza vaccination frequently asked questions states: "Yes. Pneumococcal vaccine can be given with seasonal influenza vaccine at the same clinic visit, but should be administered with a different syringe and at a different injection site if inactivated influenza vaccine or recombinant influenza vaccine is used."
  • When should I see a doctor? The official pages cited in this article print no pneumonia warning-sign list, and this article does not assemble one. Each page's own advice on seeking care is reproduced verbatim above, including: the Centre for Health Protection's "Pneumococcal Infection" page, "When having respiratory symptoms, wear a surgical mask ... and seek medical advice promptly."; the same Centre's influenza vaccination frequently asked questions, which print at questions 24, 25 and 26 the same sentence, "Side effects are generally mild and temporary. If you experience persistent fever, severe allergic reactions (e.g. difficulty in breathing, swelling of the lip or tongue, hives, etc.) or other adverse events after receiving vaccination, please consult a doctor immediately.", and at question 44, "If symptoms persist, or if allergic reactions (such as hives or facial swelling) or serious side effects occur, you should seek medical advice promptly."; and the Elderly Health Service page "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty", which prints a set of "Signs of Suffocation" and states at the end, "If frequent choking is observed, please seek medical advice as soon as possible." Whether a case is urgent is for healthcare professionals to judge.

Related article: 〈Your public specialist appointment is far off and your condition has worsened — can you ask to be seen earlier?〉


What this article does not state

  • This article does not define "community-acquired pneumonia", and does not say how it differs from aspiration pneumonia. The term "community-acquired pneumonia" does not appear once in the eleven main sources listed at the end; that does not mean the Government has never discussed it elsewhere, only that this article has no basis for discussing it.
  • This article does not define "aspiration pneumonia". The Elderly Health Service page "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty" lists it as a serious consequence of swallowing difficulty, but that page does not define what it is and does not discuss treatment.
  • This article does not say whether, or how many, aspiration pneumonia cases are counted in the "Pneumonia (ICD-10: J12-J18)" row of the leading-causes table. None of the eleven main sources listed at the end prints which specific codes the J12-J18 range contains, or how aspiration pneumonia is classified in the cause-of-death statistics.
  • This article does not reproduce the "Practical Tips for Reducing Risk of Choking in Elderly" block from the "Caring Elderly Persons with Swallowing Difficulty" page. That block is a list of care practices; this article only notes that it exists and where it sits on the page.
  • This article does not set out any pneumonia warning signs or "when to go to Accident and Emergency" list, and does not merge the separate advice on seeking care from the various pages into a single list. None of the official pages cited in this article has ever printed a pneumonia warning-sign list, and this article will not assemble one; each page's own advice on seeking care has been reproduced verbatim, sentence by sentence, under its own original topic.
  • This article does not describe how pneumonia is diagnosed, graded or treated. None of the sources cited in this article is a guideline on the clinical management of pneumonia issued in Hong Kong with a named issuing body and a year.
  • This article does not say where to go if pneumonia is suspected, how to be admitted, or how long the wait is. The pages cited in this article cover only the arrangements and locations for vaccination, not the service pathways for treating pneumonia.
  • This article does not use 2024 age-distribution figures. Of the four Centre for Health Protection statistics pages cited in this article (number of registered deaths by leading cause of death; by sex and age group; death rate; age-standardised death rate), none prints a 2024 age breakdown for pneumonia; the page broken down by age currently carries the 2025 table. This article uses only 10,705 / 11260.
  • This article does not claim that 44.9% is the pneumococcal vaccination rate of all elderly people in Hong Kong. That page states expressly that it counts only vaccinations under the Government's programmes, and that "The following statistics do not include vaccinations administered through other sectors."; on the express scope of that sentence, this site reads 44.9% as a cumulative percentage under the Government's programmes.
  • This article does not say whether the 2025/26 year is over or still running. That page prints only the column heading "2025/26 (as at 31 August 2026)", and prints no end date for the year.
  • This article does not use the Department of Health's "Approximately 65 per cent of the residents" to derive a number of people vaccinated. The response does identify the population — residents of residential care homes for the elderly — but it does not state the underlying resident count or the date of calculation, and none of the other pages cited here supplies them, so the percentage cannot be turned back into a count.
  • This article does not directly compare 44.9% with the 49.2% elderly influenza vaccination figure. The two are on the same page but carry different notes and are constructed differently.
  • This article does not cite any quantified effect of influenza vaccination in preventing pneumonia itself. That page's 40%-60% (base: the "overall population" as that page states, with elderly people included) and 70%-90% (which that page expressly confines to "individuals aged less than 65 years") are both about the risk of influenza illness, not pneumonia; that page prints no separate percentage for elderly people, describing the protection for them as "modest", and in the sentence immediately following compares recombinant and inactivated vaccines for elderly people.
  • This article does not cite a precise sample size for the 2023 survey, does not cite the statement in that release about a multiple of hospitalisation risk for which the release gives no source, and does not cite its "More than 80% of respondents" item. The release gives the sample size as "over 2,000 completed surveys" and the unvaccinated proportion as "about half".
  • This article does not read the results of that 2023 survey as figures about elderly people. Its respondents were "individuals aged 50 and above", a different age line from the 65 and above of the Government's programme.
  • This article does not explain why pneumonia and dementia are the only two of the ten leading causes whose age-standardised death rate is higher than in 2001. The pages cited in this article print no reason.
  • This article does not compare or recommend any hospital, clinic or doctor.
  • This article does not give medical advice, and cannot judge whether any individual case is urgent.
  • This is the English edition. The Traditional Chinese edition is the authoritative version of this article. Quotations above are reproduced from the official English text published by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, and — for the 2023 survey — from the English press release issued by the Hong Kong Alliance of Patients' Organizations; none of them was translated by this site.

This article is health information, not medical advice.

Sources

Vaccination history and emergency help

Main sources

Official arrangements may be updated; what the Department of Health and the Centre for Health Protection publish governs. This article is health information, not medical advice, and cannot judge whether any individual case is urgent. In an emergency, go to the nearest Accident and Emergency Department immediately.